Lok Sabha elections 2019: Cricketer Gautam Gambhir joins BJP

Adjust Comment Print

"At least, Gambhir doesn't have such a past", Jaitley was quoted as saying in a press conference where Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad was also present.

"I have been influenced by the PM, his vision for the country". Just days before the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir has chose to take the internet by storm.

In the words of Finance minister Arun Jaitley, no match can be won without batting on the front foot and BJP has now found a cricketer to bat for it. He has revealed his intention to contest the 2019 election from Secunderabad seat. The Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11.

Gambhir, who averaged 41.95 in Tests and 39.68 in ODIs, finished with over 10,000 runs in worldwide cricket in all three formats.

BJP sources said Gambhir, who is a resident of Rajinder Nagar, may be fielded from the New Delhi constituency, now represented by the party's Meenakshi Lekhi.

Facebook reveals more details about how Christchurch terror attack video spread
Google , Facebook and Twitter rushed, and initially failed , to stop the spread of videos and images of the massacre. Numerous new clips were altered in ways that outsmarted the company's detection systems, he said.

Gambhir, who has 8.98 million followers on Twitter, has been extremely critical of non-BJP political parties and politicians in the past. "But instead, vote if they believe I can make a change in their lives", Gambhir had said then.

A resident of Rajendra Nagar in Delhi, Gambhir made his one-day worldwide debut for the Indian national team in April 2003 against Bangladesh and went on to play 147 ODIs for the side.

Gambhir officially announced his retirement from all forms of cricket on December 4, 2018.

The left-handed opener was also instrumental in India's win in 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 Cricket World Cup. He is the only Indian and one of only four global batsman to score hundreds in five consecutive Tests in the 2009-10 season. He was conferred the Arjuna Award, India's second highest sporting award, in 2008 by the President of India.

He captained the Kolkata Knight Riders to two IPL championships - 2012 and 2014.