Australia v India: Cheteshwar Pujara scores century as tourists dominate first day

Adjust Comment Print

The broad face of Pujara's at times seemingly impassable bat, must loom large in the nightmares of Australia's bowling quartet after he achieved several more landmarks on day one of the fourth Test in Sydney on Thursday.

At stumps, Pujara was unbeaten on 130 off 250 balls with 16 boundaries with Hanuma Vihari 39 not out, sharing a 75-run partnership.

Cheteshwar Pujara scored his third century of the series as India took control on day one of the fourth and final Test against Australia.

India did not make the best of the starts on Day one as they lost their first wicket in the form of their opening batsman KL Rahul (9) in the second over of the match.

A similar comment was made by the Indian skipper Virat Kohli, when the Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison had hosted the captains of both the team.

Agarwal continued his impressive introduction to test cricket with another half century. He got off the mark with a classical cover drive and seemed to have brought the forward defence with him onto the field today.

Globe Soccer Awards : Ronaldo élu meilleur joueur 2018 devant Mbappé et Griezmann
Le sélectionneur de l'équipe de France avait emmené les Bleus sur le toit du monde en juillet dernier. En ce qui concerne les autres trophées, l'Atlético de Madrid a été désigné meilleur club de 2018 .

Pujara's 18th Test century came up when he swatted the 199th ball he faced to fine-leg and it just about reached the boundary.

An "average" pitch rating by the ICC for the recently concluded Boxing Day Test between Australia and India has eased some pressure off the MCG and its ground staff, in the wake of last year's "poor" rating.

Shaw had to return home after suffering an ankle injury while trying to complete a catch on the boundary during India's four-day match prior to the Test series.

Australian squad: Aaron Finch (c), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitch Marsh (vc), Alex Carey (vc), Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa.

The concerns regarding the MCG pitch had gained momentum during the first two days of the third Test when India went on to pile up a massive total of 443 runs in their first innings.